Halal is usually what is allowed or within the law in traditional Islamic and Muslims country. It is also usually used as tags for different kind of food and drinks that are allowed within these countries. Since the turn of the century, the Halal tag has been put onto many kind of meat, food and drinks so that Muslims and Islamic people can identify how it was prepared or killed to arrive in their plate. Halal food is always the result of religious criteria. Those criteria govern everything from how animals are fed, raised, slaughtered and prepared for consumption. According to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetic, food tagged as Halal cannot (or never) contain pork or derivatives of pork such as gelatin, and in most cases even alcohol. However this is also not where the Halal tag or status stops since it also extend to how and what the animal is fed. The Muslim Consumer Group declares that animals must be fed a vegetarian diet. In addition to that, the Halal animals cannot have anti-biotic or hormones injection to prevent the risk of pork based ingredients (from the injection).
How it is done and what is allowed (continued)?
In addition to all the above, it is accepted or lawful that the animals must be killed by a Muslim man who has to say a blessing and then it will be considered Halal. Once the animal has been killed, its blood must be completely drained as Muslims who eat Halal cannot let a single drop of fresh or cooked animal blood into their mouth. Now getting to the ocean animals. The MCG has a strong and stricter criteria for fish, such that it won’t certify it if the latter is farm raised since they cannot know exactly if it was fed animal byproducts. Just caught fight from the ocean is considered Halal as it has not been raised. Muslims who follow the Halal Nutrition way always keep watch of all those things so as not to make the mistake of buying fish that has been fed animal byproducts (which may have pork).
Is it healthier to go Halal Nutrition?
Although there aren’t any studies to prove it, many people believe that Halal nutrition and its food is healthier than the rest of the Non-Halal world. For example, the U.S. Department of Agriculture which acts as a reference for food contents and its nutritional values does not distinguish between Halal meats from other meats for the information of its nutritional value like the whey protein halal. While the Louisiana State University Agricultural center says that it is difficult to know if there are nutritional differences since there are no studies done with people consuming only Halal meat or food, so they just don’t know. On a side note, Halal practices appear to be more humane for the animal which might make a difference to some people outside of the Muslim and Islamic community.
The Method of Slaughtering animal as per Halal – Halal Nutrition
Animals shall not be slaughtered with a sharp object, ‘sharp object’ interpreted as a knife. It shouldn’t be done so that pain is minimized when slaughtering Slaughtering is done by cutting the windpipe, throat and blood vessels in the neck so as the animal is killed leaving the spinal cord intact. All of the blood to be drained, then the head is removed. Blood is drained because Muslims aren’t allowed to fresh blood. The reason why the spinal cord is left intact is because the nerves fibers attached to the heart may be damaged causing a cardiac arrest and stagnating the blood. Animals killed in this fashion remains fresher for a longer duration as opposed to the other methods of slaughtering according to some. The cutting of the blood vessels also allows the animal to have a painless death as blood does not flow back to the brain.
List of a few food considered to be Not Halal – Halal Nutrition
Animal Fat (Non Halal Animals)
Lipase (only animals)
Anything from pigs (bacon, ham, etc.)
Meat broth (not certified)
Rennel (except from plants and synthetic)
Food contaminated with any of these
Why do Muslims eat Halal – Halal nutrition?
Muslims and people from Islam will only eat Halal because the Quran which are their Divine code only permits Halal. They believe just like the engineer of a building knows its pros and cons, their creator know what is good and bad for them, thus the reason why they eat Halal. Next is if one desires or wishes to become a member or a group, like Islam, then ‘Halal’ nutrition sets the terms to be followed to accomplish that. Lastly, all Halal actions are usually acceptable within the Muslim world.
Halal Nutrition is considered healthier than other kinds of foods that are non halal although no research have proven otherwise. Many food are not considered Halal according to scriptures and the Quran. All food that have pork derivatives in them are also considered not Halal extending even to fish available on market through fish farms since the Muslim world cannot be sure if the fish they are eating has been fed Halal food or freshly captured.
To be considered Halal, the animal needs to be slaughtered by a Muslim man who says a prayer before undertaking the task. Animal needs to be drained of its blood since Muslims aren’t allowed to consume fresh blood and also because of germs contamination risk. Animal need to undergo a few procedures to be considered Halal, such as cutting the windpipe but not the spinal cord. This is mostly done so as not to rip off the nerves of the heart and have instant blood stagnation across the vessels. Once you’ve gone through all of the above and know a little more about Halal and the different practices involved in its procedure and certification, I’ll leave it to you to decide whether to go Halal or not.